Item #17218 Ye Meeting House at Palmers River 1719-1775. Kelsie C. Abernathy, Stephen M. Horrath.

Ye Meeting House at Palmers River 1719-1775

Privately Printed, 1977. 1st Edition. Quarto. Very Good+. Item #17218

An exceptionally scarce piece of Massachusetts Quaker history, possibly a one-off.

Palmers Meeting was the first meeting house in the second precinct of Rehoboth.
Construction started in 1717 and completed November 29th 1721, with Reverend David Turner as pastor. Fifty pounds was donated towards the cost of the building by the Newman church, the first meeting house built when the town was established in 1643, in present day Rumford.

On March 8th 1773 the church voted that the meeting house should be pulled down, and a new one built near Timothy Redway's plain, the present site of the village cemetery.

Tan typographical wraps. Staple binding. 39pp + 18pp, printed on recto only. Square tight binding. Clean interior. Mild age toning to wraps and outer pages.

A lovely copy and unique addition to any quality Quaker collection.

Price: $75.00