Talbot County, Maryland Just After the Civil War, with Property Owner Names

1877 Hand-Colored Street Map of Wye Mills, Matthewstown, and Cordova, Maryland, Talbot County

Philadelphia: Lake Griffing & Stevenson, 1877. 1st Edition. Folio. Very Good. Item #17584

An original BEAUTIFUL 1877 hand-colored street map of the Chapel District in talbot County, Maryland, on the Free State's Eastern Shore.

This map features property owner names as they were shortly after the Civil War during the last year of Reconstruction.

Iconic natural landmarks, such as Tuckahoe Creek, and the Mullet Brach are depicted, as is the line of the defunct Maryland and Delaware Railroad

In vignette in the upper right is a detailed street map of Oakland Mills, and in the upper left is a the original business directory with a list of sponsoring Talbot County businesses.

This map is from the very scarce Lake Griffing & Stevenson 1877 Atlas of Talbot and Dorchester Counties and is quite rare.

Also included are the Cambridge Female Seminary, Courthouse, Jail and the lines of the long-defunct Dorchester and Delaware Railroad.

Mild age toning and some edge wear, with ancient tape repair. Centerfold also with tape repair along its entirety.

Perfect for framing and display, this map measures 26 " X 16"

Price: $150.00